Defense Dominates For Broncos Nominated As 2018 Hall Of Fame Semifinalists

27 players were just nominated as 2018 semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Here is the list of players that spent at least some of their careers in Denver, from most to fewest seasons:

  • Karl Mecklenburg (1983-1994)
  • Steve Atwater (1989-1998)
  • John Lynch (2004-2007)
  • Brian Dawkins (2009-2011)
  • Simeon Rice (2007)
  • Ty Law (2009)

Of these six, Atwater and Mecklenburg are of course the truest Broncos. Lynch and Dawkins are better known as a Buc and an Eagle, but both had non-trivial contributions in Denver, as opposed to Rice and Law.

Unfortunately for all of these players, there’s a stiff amount of competition among first time nominees: among them include Randy Moss, Brian Urlacher, and Ray Lewis. Moss’s candidacy in particular will be fascinating, especially considered alongside the discourse going on with the delay of enshrinement for Terrell Owens, also among the 27. With receivers in particular, there are also several more popular names such as Hines Ward, Isaac Bruce, and Torry Holt to compete against.